ESOL Family Resources

Welcome, Parents!

Here you will find information regarding our ESOL program, the Florida  Consent Decree, resources for language development, cultural support, and information about parent involvement. Please contact us if you need support at home or at school.


Please click below to learn more about Testing Accommodations

ESOL Testing Accommodations                                                      


February 2021 Parent Leadership Council Meeting document can be found here.

May 2021 Parent Leadership Council Meeting document can be found here


Helping Your Child Read, Write, and Communicate

There are many resources to help parents assist their children at home with reading, writing, listening, and speaking skills.  The following resources are available in Spanish and English and can be adapted for other languages as well.   We encourage parents to read, sing, write, and engage their children at home both in their native language, as well as the second language in which they may be learning.  Remember to encourage your child every day!





Elementary School Middle School         High School         
Colorín Colorado Colorín Colorado Purdue Owl Grammar
Learn English Kids Ad Lit Ad Lit
Learning Chocolate Learning Chocolate Learning Chocolate
Kindersay Activities for ESL Activities for ESL
Khan Academy Khan Academy VOA Learning English
USAlearns USAlearns USAlearns
ESL Kids World Education World 6-8 Word Steps
Hello World NewsELA NewsELA
Education World K-5 Wyzant ESL Videos
ESL Kid Stuff English Interactive English Interactive


Curriculum Standards - Florida State Standards and WIDA Standards

The Language Arts Florida Standards (LAFS) include the English Language Arts standards in grades K-12 as well as the content-area literacy standards for middle school and high school instruction in the following content areas: history/social studies, science, and technical subjects.

The WIDA English Language Development Standards were adopted by Florida in June 2014.   The English Language Development Standards are organized into the following four domains and six proficiency levels:

• Listening, Speaking, Reading, Writing
• Six language proficiency levels: 1-Entering, 2-Beginning, 3-Developing, 4-Expanding,
5-Bridging, and 6-Reaching
• Five grade-level clusters: PreK–K, 1–2, 3–5, 6–8, and 9–12.


Contact Us

For more information about parent involvement, please contact:

Andrea Knauber,  ELL Family and Community Engagement Coach. 

Phone: (813) 794-2517          Email address: