Friday, April 20, 2018

Pasco County Recognized as Cambridge International District of the Year

Land O' Lakes, FL – (April 20, 2018) – Cambridge Assessment International Education came to Pasco County Thursday night to honor Madison Hoyle for scoring highest in the nation on the Psychology AS exam, and Pasco County Schools as the District of the Year in the United States.

Mark Cavone, Cambridge International regional director for North America, congratulated the Pasco County School Board and Superintendent Kurt Browning for the success of the program, which is in its fourth year.  He also presented an award to Pasco High School senior Madison Hoyle for outperforming all other American students on the psychology exam.

 “We are pleased to report that Pasco County Schools is being recognized for exceptionally strong commitment to expanding and delivering a high quality Cambridge education with equally strong performance, as shown by your students’ achievements (a reflection of your school staff, students, and teachers), in the Medium sized District Category.  Your district has expanded access to Cambridge exams by over 100% and has achieved phenomenal pass rates (at 76%),” Mr. Cavone said when notifying Superintendent Browning of the recognition.
In addition to Madison, 30 Pasco High School students were recognized as AS scholars for their achievement on Cambridge examinations.

This is the first year Cambridge International is celebrating the small-, medium-, and large-sized districts that ranked the highest in both increasing access to the rigor of the Cambridge curriculum while simultaneously sustaining or improving student performance (based on the 2016/17 series), according to Mr. Cavone.
For video from the awards, click here.

Cambridge Scholar Award Winners

Andrew Hull
Carrie Greene
Tam-An Hoang
Kayleigh Heather
Drew Johnston
Julia Gregory
Madison Jender
Madison Hoyle
Sylvia Martinez
Molly Bentley
Savannah Jividen
Mackenzie Green
Taylor Hays-Lankford
Elizabeth Coleman
Allyson Worthy
Brendan College
Brittnee Hampton
Hazel Wilburn
Lindsey Torres
Akosua Kissi
Nathalie Sawczuk
Micaela Blomeley
Annemarie Peacock
Amber Wood
Susana Stripling
Maunel Tarango
Brian Andruskiewicz
Emily Weiser
Jillyan Jerkins
Cara Dwyer