Monday, October 25, 2010

Congratulations to Pasco’s Forty-Eight Five Star Award Schools!

We are proud to announce that forty-eight Pasco County schools have been recognized by the Florida Department of Education as 2009-2010 Five Star Schools.  This prestigious award is the Florida Department of Education’s highest for community and parent involvement.  The Florida Commissioner's Community Involvement Council developed the award as a comprehensive program aimed at increasing community involvement in Florida schools.  Both the letter and spirit of school improvement and accountability legislation are built upon the active involvement of parents, guardians, business people, and other community members in efforts to improve Florida’s schools. 

In order to qualify for the award, a school must have earned a grade of “C” or above and achieve 100% of the required criteria. These include Business Partnerships, Family Involvement, Volunteers, Student Community Service, and School Advisory Councils.  Schools must also create a lengthy portfolio that documents the achievement of each criterion.  This portfolio is reviewed at the District level to ensure compliance.  Earning the award requires a school-wide, year-long effort coupled with parent and community commitment.  Five Star Award portfolios are available for public review at each school.

Research shows a strong correlation between schools with strong parent and community involvement and higher student academic achievement.  Schools that earn the Five Star award are working to create a school culture that supports the District’s mission to help all students reach their highest potential.  This year’s forty-eight winners represent an increase of fourteen Five Star schools in the last three years!  Way to go, Pasco!

First Year Winners:  Anclote High School, R. B. Cox Elementary School, James W. Mitchell High School, Watergrass Elementary School

Second Year Winners:Mary Giella Elementary School, Oakstead Elementary School, River Ridge High School, Charles S. Rushe Middle School, Paul R. Smith Middle School, Veterans Elementary School

Third Year Winners:Double Branch Elementary School, Gulf Trace Elementary School, New River Elementary School, Trinity Oaks Elementary School

Fourth Year Winners:Chester W. Taylor Elementary School, Wiregrass Ranch High School

Fifth Year Winners:Longleaf Elementary School, Pine View Elementary School, Seven Oaks Elementary School

Sixth Year Winners:Moon Lake Elementary School, Wesley Chapel Elementary School

Seventh Year Winners:Gulf Middle School, Shady Hills Elementary School

Eighth Year Winners:Hudson Middle School, Pasco Elementary School, Pine View Middle School, Quail Hollow Elementary School, Richey Elementary School, San Antonio Elementary School, Sunray Elementary School, Trinity Elementary School, West Zephyrhills Elementary School

Ninth Year Winners:Centennial Elementary School, Chasco Elementary School, Hudson Elementary School, Sanders Memorial Elementary School

Tenth Year Winners:Cypress Elementary School, Cotee River Elementary School, Fox Hollow Elementary School, James M. Marlowe Elementary School, Northwest Elementary School, Schrader Elementary School, Seven Springs Elementary School

Eleventh Year:Deer Park Elementary School, Mittye P. Locke Elementary School, Sand Pine Elementary School

Fourteenth Year Winners:Anclote Elementary School, Gulfside Elementary School