Thursday, June 23, 2011

Congratulations to Pasco’s Fifty-Three Five Star Award Schools!

We are proud to announce that fifty-three Pasco County schools will be recognized by the Florida Department of Education as 2010-2011 Five Star Schools.  This prestigious award is the Florida Department of Education’s highest for community and parent involvement.  The Florida Commissioner's Community Involvement Council developed the award as a comprehensive program aimed at increasing community involvement in Florida schools.  Both the letter and spirit of school improvement and accountability legislation are built upon the active involvement of parents, families, businesses, and communities in efforts to improve Florida’s schools. 

In order to qualify for the award, a school must have earned a grade of “C” or above and achieve 100% of the required criteria. These include Business Partnerships, Family Involvement, Volunteers, Student Community Service, and School Advisory Councils.  Schools must also create a comprehensive portfolio that documents the achievement of each criterion.  This portfolio is reviewed at the District level to ensure compliance.  Earning the award requires a school-wide, year-long effort coupled with parent and community commitment.  Five Star Award portfolios are available for public review at each school.

Research shows a strong correlation between schools with strong parent and community involvement and higher student academic achievement.  Schools that earn the Five Star award are working to create a school culture that supports the District’s mission to help all students reach their highest potential.  This year’s fifty-three winners represent an increase of nineteen Five Star schools in the last three years!  Way to go, Pasco!

First Year Winners:  Connerton Elementary School, Odessa Elementary School, Sunlake High School, Woodland Elementary School, Zephyrhills High School

Two Year Winners:R. B. Cox Elementary School, James W. Mitchell High School, Watergrass Elementary School, Wesley Chapel High School

Three Year Winners:Mary Giella Elementary School, Gulf Highlands Elementary School, Oakstead Elementary School, River Ridge High School, Charles S. Rushe Middle School, Veterans Elementary School

Four Year Winners:Double Branch Elementary School, Gulf Trace Elementary School, New River Elementary School, Trinity Oaks Elementary School

Five Year Winners:Chester W. Taylor Elementary School, Wiregrass Ranch High School

Six Year Winners:Longleaf Elementary School, Pine View Elementary School, Seven Oaks Elementary School

Seven Year Winners:Moon Lake Elementary School, Wesley Chapel Elementary School

Eight Year Winners:Gulf Middle School, Lake Myrtle Elementary School, Shady Hills Elementary School

Nine Year Winners:Hudson Middle School, Pasco Elementary School, Pine View Middle School, Quail Hollow Elementary School, Richey Elementary School, San Antonio Elementary School, Sunray Elementary School, Trinity Elementary School, West Zephyrhills Elementary School

Ten Year Winners: Calusa Elementary School,Centennial Elementary School, Chasco Elementary School, Hudson Elementary School

Eleven Year Winners:Cotee River Elementary School, Cypress Elementary School, Fox Hollow Elementary School, James M. Marlowe Elementary School, Northwest Elementary School, Schrader Elementary School, Seven Springs Elementary School

Twelve Year Winners: Deer Park Elementary School, Mittye P. Locke Elementary School

Fifteen Year Winners:Anclote Elementary School, Gulfside Elementary School